Buying (Cheap) Furniture in Hong Kong

30 Jun

I’m finally in Hong Kong! The weather is not as hot as I expect it to be. It’s been raining for the past week. Coming here from London, I’d say rain in Hong Kong is a lot more annoying, mainly because:

  1. It’s heavier.
  2. The water doesn’t feel clean… With all the high rise surrounding the streets, the water has gone through so many things before it reaches the ground… street signs, air conditioners, clothes sticking out for drying, and God knows what else.

Anyway my parents manage to find me a place to live with my relative, who has just recently moved into a new place. So I’ve been furniture shopping for the past week for my room! Below are some of the main places for furniture shopping, and I must have been to each of them at least twice. It turns out to be pretty hard work shopping for new furniture. The size’s got to be right, and the colors’ got to match.

1.  Ikea

This Swedish store needs no introduction. The HK Ikea is a complete replica of Ikeas abroad, available in Causeway Bay, Kowloon Bay, and Shatin. But sadly there is no online delivery, and you have to pay HKD70 to get any tiny thing delivered.

Ikea is my favorite furniture store. It’s chic yet affordable. I’d love to just have everything from Ikea, and I adore the whole DIY system available at Ikea. I ended up only getting the bathroom water basin from them, and getting everything cheaper from local stores. It doesn’t seem to make sense to spend much on furniture when I don’t know how long I’ll last in this city.

2. Pricerite

Pricerite is a HK chain that sells random household things ranging from beds to coackroach killers (?), at a fairly low price, as the name suggests. My relative managed to get a queen-size bed for less than HK$2000. Though I must admit the design are nowhere as chic as Ikea’s. It’s available in quite a lot of places in HK, but is way smaller than Ikea. It also delivers for free. :)

3.  DSC

DSC is another HK chain that’s perhaps slightly cheaper than Pricerite. I was able to pick up a small bed and a 3ft closet for less than HKD4000. :) But it’s bigger than Pricerite, hence available in less place.

4. Jusco

Jusco is a Japanese department store that’s available in only in five places. Usually furniture are sold on the top floor, with a few expensive pieces mixed with more fairly priced items. My relative picked up a rather pricey dining table here for around HK$3000 and a rather cheap 4-ft shelf for HK$3000.

5. Your neighborhood private (small) furniture shop

Last but not least, there are these local furniture shops that you see in your local neighborhood. Just my neighborhood mall alone has three of them, and they seem to store the most hideous AND overpriced furniture that I’ve ever seen. By no means is this a representation of neighborhood furniture stores. I’m sure there are some really cozy stores that I missed in some corner in the city. Honestly, I’ve seen a lot of furniture stores in random place, but can’t really be bothered to check them out. I feel rather bombarded with all the choices already and just want to settle in ASAP. I’ve been told that Wanchai has a whole street dedicated to furniture stores. Maybe I’ll go one day when I own my own place and bring along a local friend who is good at cutting prices.

Edit (July 10): I did ended up going to Wanchai in the end. There was a whole street Lockhart Road dedicated to selling bathroom-ware (toilets, basins, bathroom shelves, bath tubs) and other small things (doors, door locks, door handles, etc). The stores are mostly family-owned, with goods both on the cheaper and higher end, depending on whether the good is branded or not. It’s a good place to go if you’re planning to renovate your house quite a bit, but not if you’re looking for readily made furniture.

PS.  I do see Priterite, Jusco and DSW carrying the same stuff, so it’s probably a good idea to go through them and compare price. :p

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

