I love Mastina! (Getting a business suit in HK for *poor* girls)

1 Aug

I finally got an interview lined up! So I had to buy a new suit. (Ok, maybe I don’t need to, but my old ones are… old. Whatever!)

As a fresh (read: poor) graduate, my choice are rather limited to…

  • G2000: G2000 is a cheap local chain store that sells executive wear, available almost everywhere. A full suit (jacket + dress + pants + shirt) would probably add up to nearly HKD1000. This is where I got my first suit, which I found to be too plain. I find the cutting to be rather masculine. (No curves at all.)
  • H&M: I had a suit from them, but am not sure about their choice of fabric – a bit too un-conservative. But I love the variety of tops in H&M.
  • Mastina!: Mastina is local Hong Kong brand that sells smart casual and executive wear for female. This is where I got my new suit, and I really love them! It is a bit pricier without sale, but could be reaaaally cheap when on sale (which seems to be most of the time actually…) I got a jacket + shirt + pants for only HKD500! The suits have a feminine cutting that really suits the Asian female body type.

I always thought I didn’t look at home in a suit, but I finally found a perfect one! That is, until I get fatter… MEH! YAY to Mastina! :)

2 Responses to “I love Mastina! (Getting a business suit in HK for *poor* girls)”

  1. Tracy November 12, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Hi Abby,

    I’m a 25-year old girl who just moved to Hong Kong and am desperate to find some nice suits for work. Your post on Mastina has me intrigued. Where is this store and why can’t I find any locations online? Ideally I’d like to find a location in Central or perhaps Causeway Bay.

    Thanks!
    Tracy

    • Abby Lim November 12, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

      Hey Tracy!

      I found the store locations here (http://www.mydress.com.hk/brand/692/mastina/shops). Apparently there is a one in Central (Lee Long Building, 4 Queen Victoria St, Tel 25268366). I went to the one in North Point, so I’m not sure if the info is accurate. Better call them before you go. Their style tend to be rather feminine – but I like it. :p Hope there’s some kind of sales promotion still on – it could be 50% off sometimes! Good luck! :) And have fun in HK!

      Cheers, Jenna.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

